Chocolate Coconut Cookies (grain, gluten and dairy free)

I am not usually much of a baker, mostly because I hate washing all of the measuring cups and bowls after I am done mixing the ingredients… but also because I usually lack the willpower to restrain myself from eating the entire batch of whatever treat I am baking. I can be a bit of a cookie-monster. Lately, I have been craving some sweets but haven’t found any healthy cookie recipes that are actually still tasty. Since I couldn’t find a recipe out there, I made my own! I had to go through and tweak this recipe a few times to find the right amount of coconut oil. You will see in the photos there is batch that is flatter and the bottoms are a little too brown (burned) so I did a second batch with less oil and they are perfection!

Here is the first stab at it. They were still VERY tasty, just not as pretty as I would have liked (notice the crispy edge):

cookies 1

cookies 10

This is the final product, adjusted for the correct amount of oil (in my opinion)!

cookies6

cookies 7

These cookies are free from the inflammatory ingredients you may find in conventional cookie mixes or store bought cookies AND they are delicious!

If we are going to treat ourselves, it better taste good! Let me know if you try out this recipe, I’d love to hear what you think!

Paleo Chocolate Coconut Cookies (makes 18 cookies)

Ingredients (links to the brands I love):

cookies 9

  • 2/3 cup coconut flour – Bob’s Red Mill is fantastic
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil – Dr. Bronner’s has a really great taste
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup (the real stuff, buy local if you can)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • a pinch or two of sea salt
  • 2 eggs (we use a duck egg because of my food sensitivities, but regular old chicken eggs work just fine)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, finely shredded – I used this brand
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips – we like this dairy free variety for my sensitivity, but regular old mini chocolate chips will work too!

cookies 8

To Make:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350*F
  2. Mix together the coconut flour, coconut oil, syrup, vanilla, egg and sea salt in a medium size mixing bowl until it forms into a doughy consistency.
  3. Fold in coconut flakes & 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips (the remainder are for the drizzle!)
  4. Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper
  5. Roll cookies into small balls and then flatten them out since they won’t flatten while they cook
  6. Bake for 10-15 minutes
  7. Let cool for at least 5 minutes
  8. While the cookies are cooling, melt the chocolate chips (if you aren’t getting the right consistency to be able to drizzle the chocolate, add a little coconut oil into the mixture. That should thin it out. Once the cookies are cool, drizzle the chocolate over the top using a spoon!
  9. ENJOY!

xo,

brooke-signature

Subscribe to the Newsletter!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Cookies (grain, gluten and dairy free)

Leave a Reply

